Staying Home and Being a Homemaker

A year ago I was blessed to be able to quit my job and stay home with my two girls. Tony works at an asphalt company mainly from April through November. During the off-season he does snow plowing for the company. At the time I quit, Tenley was just 5 months old. I had a very rough pregnancy with her and ended up missing lots of work. I don’t regret missing any of the days because it was better for her health and my own. I was also commuting 45 minutes to get to work and 45 minutes back. It was horrible, not including the late shifts I was given.

We ended up going over our finances and figured out that once he went back to work in April a month away, my paycheck was going to a babysitter and gas. Is that really how I wanted my kids growing up?! The babysitter taking care of them when my paycheck wasnt providing anything besides paying them.

The next day I put my two weeks in. Best decision ever!!

Some days I will admit are a huge struggle for me. It can get very hectic around here. You feel sometimes alone and that you’re missing a lot.

Even though some days are insane you really are gaining so much. It’s truly a blessing. Remember your children will grow in ways you never thought possible.

I am not the perfect homemaker. Some days have been lazy days, dishes piled up and laundry got out of hand. There were days I took advantage of being home. I will admit it, I am in no way perfect. My house is no where near spotless and my kids are not on the best schedule. When Tony was off it was a little slacking which I regret now trying to get things back into order.

Taken with my iphone- sorry grainy picture. You definitely get the point though!
Real Life

Real Life Mess

My house isnt always this messy I promise!

I want to strive to be a better homemaker and take care of the duties of the home. Tony works so hard to make sure I can stay home to raise our girls that I want to make sure he is satisfied with what I have done for the day. Dont get me wrong, I do want to do it mainly for me but its nice to have him smile and feel relaxed coming home to a clean home. Not every day is there dinner on the table or all toys picked up but I am getting better. Tony always tells me that he doesnt care how the house is but it is a more relaxed situation when he isn’t worrying about housework. Keeping on a schedule is hard for me. I am definitely a procrastinator but I am hoping to get a cleaning schedule down. I will do a separate post about it. Hoping it helps me with daily cleaning and keeping schedules.

I believe this was what I was called to do. Tony does a wonderful job of taking care of us and being the head of the household. I want to be a great teammate and happily do my job. Taking care of the house and children. I am so blessed in so many ways.

This job has been given to me do. Therefore, it is a gift. Therefore, it s a privilege. Therefore, it is an offering I may make to God. Therefore, it is to be done gladly, if it is done for Him. Here, not somewhere else, I may learn God’s way. In this job, not in some other, God looks for faithfullness.
-Elisabeth Elliot

Here is a link to print off the quote above:
http://time-warp-wife.blogspot.ca/2012/12/free-printable-elisabeth-elliot-quote.html

6 thoughts on “Staying Home and Being a Homemaker

  1. I really appreciate the sincerity of your blog, it’s realistic and I can truly relate to why you made your decision to stay at home. Your family is so blessed to have you, keep up the good work!

    • Thank you so much! I try to just say how our life really is! We’re not perfect and sometimes I feel if you embrace the imperfection you will be blessed!

  2. Working in the home is sometimes hard to stay focused. I worked in my home for several years for two different companies doing AP/AR work and that kept me very busy. Dinner wasn’t always on the table or the laundry wasn’t always done but if you ask my boys (now 20 and 21) they were the best years of their life! Hang in there and know you are doing the right thing for now. Best of luck to you!!

    • Thank you so much! I am hoping for the same thing! In 20 years my daughters will talk about how great it was having me home! It’s definitely the hardest but best job!

  3. As a fellow stay at home mom…those pictures are just like an average day in our playroom 🙂 Nothing to be worried about! I’m sure you’re doing a great job!

  4. I really loved this post. Sometimes I feel guilty because I have those lazy days too where I don’t want to accomplish much, so it’s nice to know I’m not the only one. I think most of the time it’s a lot more work than nonparents realize and it’s okay to relax and let the laundry wait =)

Leave a Reply

